Skip to main content

AGM and Annual Dinner

Nearly 100 members attended the AGM, held at Middle Temple Hall in London. A further 100 members joined for the Annual Dinner.

Nearly 100 members attended the AGM, held on May 12th at Middle Temple Hall in London. SCL Chairman Richard Bayfield gave his Chairman's report, and SCL Treasurer Corrina King her Treasurer's summary. Those candidates standing for Council who were present gave brief election statements, and final ballot papers were handed in. The results of the election, announced later, showed the five successful candidates to be: Chris Dering, Brian Gayton, Nicholas Gould, Keith Kirkwood and Lindy Patterson. Richard Bayfield paid tribute to the three unsuccessful candidates, expressing the belief that they would still be able to contribute much to the Society.

Those attending the AGM were joined by a further 100 members for the Annual Dinner, held in this superb venue, perhaps the finest Elizabethan hall in the country. During the Dinner, the retirement of the Society's President, Sir Philip Otton, was announced and former Chairman Victoria Russell paid tribute to his enormous contribution in building up the Society during his eight years as President. The new President, Lord Justice May, was introduced to members and expressed his delight in taking on this role.

A musical interlude was provided by the Abbott O'Gorman Duo, and those present had ample time for fruitful conversations and connections.