

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting The Society of Construction Law

Held on Wednesday 3 May 2023 at 6.30pm

Oak 3 Suite, Royal Lancaster London Hotel, Lancaster Terrance, London W2 2TY

Present:

Chairman – Hamish Lal Vice Chair – Karen Gough Treasurer – Paul Battrick Secretary – Andrew Singer KC

The chairman welcomed everyone to the AGM.

Minutes

The minutes of the AGM held on 11 May 2022 were approved by the Members: Proposed by Sean Gibbs and Seconded by Andrew Singer KC.

Chairman's Report

The chairman summarised his report and spoke briefly about the membership position, the amendments to the constitution and also the need for better governance going forward. He also spoke of his desire for better connectivity between the Universities and the Regional Representatives.

Presentation of Accounts for Approval

The treasurer spoke about the positive position of the SCL accounts. He confirmed the income is continuing to grow with expectations that this year will be healthier than last year due to the $40^{\rm th}$ anniversary events taking place. He invited questions from the members, who did not offer any. The treasurer went on to thank the administrator for her assistance during the recent audit.

The accounts were therefore formally accepted by the Members:proposed by Andrew Singer KC and seconded by Karen Gough.

Appointment of Auditors and Re-appointment of Bookkeepers and Accounts McKenzies and RSM UK were formally proposed and accepted as bookkeepers and accountants for the current financial year. Proposed by Sean Gibbs and seconded by David Falkenstern.

The chairman noted and suggested that in future neither position should be held by one organisation for more than 3-5 years to ensure better governance.

Changes to the Constitution

The chairman summarised the changes which had been made to the constitution. These amendments were voted as approved by the members.

Election of Ordinary Members of Council

The Chairman explained that there were 6 vacancies on council and 8 members had put themselves forward for election. Each who were present gave a short speech. The election results were announced by the chairman during the Annual Dinner.

Louise Forster
Sean Sullivan Gibbs
Karen Gough
Amy Lacey
Michael Levenstein
Jessica Neuberger
Rhiannon Williams
Sarah Williams

Highlighted members were successful.

There being no further business the meeting closed at 7.00pm