Forthcoming meetings and events

Unless marked otherwise, the meetings are free to members and their guests. There is usually a link to go to book your places. Bookings can only be made by logged in members. Please contact our administrative office with any queries.

Please note that the mobile version of this website does not allow online payments, so to book for paid events you will have to use the full desktop version.

Click here for a summary of CPD Requirements

Thursday, January 15, 2015
5.45 for 6pm
Bristol
Agreements to agree: the enforceability of staged dispute clauses

Anneliese Day QC, 4 New Square

Andrew Kearney
Andrew Kearney

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Wednesday, January 21, 2015
5.45 for 6pm
Birmingham
Equitable Set off: new directions after Geldof: What it means for Construction Lawyers

Frances Pigott, Atkin Chambers

Nichola Vine
Ian Yule

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

For further enquiries please contact beverley.jones@weightmans.com

Friday, February 6, 2015
12.30 for 1pm
London
SCL Lunch at the Brewery 2015

Sir Christopher Meyer, KCMG

Former British Ambassador to the USA and to Germany, former Chairman of the Press Complaints Commission, and founder of the charity Parents & Abducted Children Together.

Please note this event has now SOLD OUT.

Tuesday, February 10, 2015
6.30pm
London
Collateral Warranties: two perspectives

Steven Walker QC and John Hughes D’Aeth

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Thursday, February 12, 2015
2.00pm
London
Alliancing - New Breakthroughs & New Challenges (Navigating Legal Icebergs in & beyond the UK)
A conference organised by the Centre of Construction Law and the Society of Construction Law

Dale Evans (Director, @one Alliance, Anglian Water), Professor David Mosey (Director, Centre of Construction Law and Dispute Resolution, King’s College London), Ellis Baker (Head of Construction & Engineering Practice Group, White & Case) and The Hon Mr Justice Akenhead

Nicholas Gould, Fenwick Elliott LLP
Tuesday, March 3, 2015
6.30pm
London
Delay damages and site conditions: contrasts in US and English law
Joint SCL/American Bar Association event

Stephen A Hess and Julian Bailey

Lord Justice Jackson

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Friday, March 6, 2015
8.15am
Leeds/Wakefield
The Society of Construction Law Annual Conference 2015
Key Risks in Construction and Engineering Contracts – Learning lessons from major projects

The Honourable Mr Justice Akenhead, His Honour Judge Mark Raeside QC, Adrian Williamson QC – Keating Chambers, Adam Robb – 39 Essex Street, Alexander Hickey – 4 Pump Court,
Matthew Garratt – Commercial Director Costain London Bridge Station Project and Robert McKibbin - Navigant

Jonathan Hawkswell

Delegate Fee: £110.00 plus £22.00 VAT = £132.00

Friday, March 6, 2015
12.00 for 1pm
Bristol
SCL Lunch in Bristol
Thursday, March 12, 2015
6.30pm
Cambridge
Duty to Warn - whose job is it?

Samuel Townend, Keating Chambers

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Tuesday, April 14, 2015
5.45 for 6.00pm
Birmingham
Don’t be led up the critical path

Stephen Lowsley (Diales) and Christopher Linnett

Mark Wheeler, SCL Treasurer
Ian Yule
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
6.30pm
London
tbc

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Wednesday, May 6, 2015
6.30pm
London
The Society's AGM
Wednesday, May 6, 2015
7.30pm
London
The Society's Annual Dinner 2015
Tuesday, May 12, 2015
6.30pm
London
tbc

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Thursday, May 14, 2015
5.45 for 6pm
Bristol
Adjudication Enforcement, Insolvent Companies & Can I Get My Money Back: the unsatisfactory state of the law?

James Bowling, 4 Pump Court

Chloé Flatley, EC Harris LLP
Tom Wrzesien

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Tuesday, June 9, 2015
6.30pm
London
tbc

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Tuesday, July 14, 2015
6.30pm
London
tbc

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Tuesday, September 8, 2015
6.30pm
London
tbc

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Friday, September 11, 2015
12.30 for 1.00pm
Leeds/Wakefield
The SCL Lunch in the North of England
Jonathan Hawkswell
Thursday, October 1, 2015 - Saturday, October 3, 2015
London
European Society of Construction Law - Conference

Further information to follow

Tuesday, October 6, 2015
6.30pm
London
tbc

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Tuesday, November 3, 2015
6.30pm
London
tbc

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Tuesday, December 1, 2015
6.30pm
London
tbc

BOOK PLACES (you must be logged in)

Friday, December 4, 2015
12 noon
Dublin
SCL Lunch in Dublin
Susan Bryson
Tuesday, October 4, 2016
6.30pm
London
SCL President's Reception